Posted by: speedycanizales | January 26, 2009

Jumping Off The Deep End

When it comes to fitness I’m all talk and no action.  I’ve wanted to get back into shape for the last couple of months but have done absolutely nothing about it.  I like to blame it on my unpredictable work schedule, but the truth is I’m just lazy.  I’ve been thinking of joining the gym or taking yoga classes but it’s hard for me to make a commitment.

Last week my friend Cicely told me about this crazy race she’s running in April.  It’s a relay run by a team of 12 people, and the legs can range from three to seven miles.  The total distance is 177 miles, meaning each person has to run three legs.  Sounds pretty intense, right?  Assuming the whole team runs an average of 10 minutes a mile, it will take us almost 30 hours to finish the race.   Here’s the kicker: the race is continuous.  There’s a chance I could be running a 5-mile leg at 2 am!  Thankfully Rene is part of the team and will run with me in the dark if that’s the slot I end up taking.

At first I wasn’t too keen on the idea.  I am out of shape and don’t have much time in the evenings to run.  Then I thought about it some more: I’d be running with a group, and people would be counting on me to be in shape.  To me that is good motivation – there’s nothing like suffering as a team.  I took a deep breath and took the plunge.  Yowza!

*****

Our first workout was last Sunday at Long Beach, where I met my teammates Alan, Cici, and Kyle.  We ran five miles along the beach, from the boardwalk all the way to the Queen Mary.  We passed some colorful characters along the way: there was this woman wearing a t-shirt that said I LOVE MY BOYFRIEND.  Rene looked at me and said, “Don’t ask me how I know but that woman loves her boyfriend.”  It was so funny that I started cracking up in the middle of our run, and I nearly had to stop because it’s hard laughing when you’re out of breath.  I was laughing so hard that another runner in front of us turned around and asked if we were laughing about the same thing.  We were.  A few minutes later we saw a man wearing a shirt that said FREE NOSE JOBS.  Judging by his tough appearance I’m assuming he meant breaking noses, not fixing them.  Not really funny, that one.

3226856381_1513dfc50d

Cici, me, Kyle, Alan, Rene

3226860449_ea63e93e4b

Ready Freddies (our team name) in motion

3226869651_fba956e6062Cici said to act tired – unfortunately I was the only one who did it, hence the goofy expression

(Thanks Cici for the pictures!)

After our run we ate breakfast at some place called Panama Joe’s.  I had the champagne brunch special, and ordered a seafood omelet as my main entrée.  They accidentally switched my food with Cici’s so we both ate a few bites of each other’s food.  Hers was pretty good.  I wish mine had more beans with cheese.  I hope Alan and Cici don’t think I’m some sort of raging alcoholic for having multiple glasses of champagne.  It was bottomless so I took full advantage.  Why pay a premium when there’s no booze involved?

Next week we’re meeting at the Rose Bowl and running two three-milers.  I’m excited to meet the rest of the team, and hopefully convince them to eat at Roscoe’s House of Chicken and Waffles.  If there’s one I love to do in Pasadena it’s visiting Roscoe’s for some chicken and waffles.


Responses

  1. i’m so glad you guys joined the team!!! so exciting =)


Leave a comment

Categories